Newman Selective Gifted Education Program

Sydney Catholic Schools (SCS) initiated the Newman Selective Gifted Education Program in 2011 as a response to ensuring educational equity was achieved for gifted learners in both Catholic Primary and Secondary schools.

Newman Selective schools provide high quality professional learning for staff and an authentically rigorous program for gifted learners within a nurturing Catholic environment, thus enhancing the whole-person. They offer a wide range of opportunities that cater for a variety of gifted learners and supports students’ social and emotional wellbeing.

Key Program Elements;

  • There are 39 Newman Selective schools across the Sydney Archdiocese supporting students from Kindergarten to Year 12
  • The program is facilitated by staff who have dedicated training in the field of gifted education
  • Academics and psychologists specialising in gifted education contribute to the development and delivery of the program
  • Students are assessed across a range of gifted domains in order to access the program and their progress comprehensively evaluated
    Students can participate in various programs such as creative arts, coding and computational skills, rich literature experiences, STEM initiatives and robotics
  • Newman Selective Symposiums are held annually to celebrate student achievement
  • To sustain a high quality educational program, all Newman Selective schools undergo a comprehensive accreditation process every three years
Region Prim/Sec School SUBURB
ER Prim Our Lady of Fatima Catholic Primary School KINGSGROVE
ER Prim Our Lady of the Rosary Catholic Primary School KENSINGTON
ER Prim St Finbar’s Catholic Primary School SAN SOUCI
ER Prim St Mary’s Catholic Primary School NORTH SYDNEY
ER Prim St Mary’s Catholic Primary School ERSKINEVILLE
ER Prim St Mary’s Star of the Sea Catholic Primary School HURSTVILLE
ER Prim St Michael’s Catholic Primary School LANE COVE
ER Prim St Raphael’s Catholic Primary School SOUTH HURSTVILLE
ER Sec Bethany College HURSTVILLE
ER Sec Brigidine College RANDWICK
ER Sec Marcellin College RANDWICK
ER Sec Marist College North Shore NORTH SYDNEY
ER Sec St Ursula’s College KINGSGROVE
IW Prim St Ambrose Catholic Primary School CONCORD WEST
IW Prim St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School ENFIELD
IW Prim St Mary’s Catholic Primary School CONCORD
IW Prim St Michael’s Catholic Primary School STANMORE
IW Prim St Michael’s Catholic Primary School MEADOWBANK
IW Sec De La Salle College ASHFIELD
IW Sec Domremy College FIVE DOCK
IW Sec Marist Sisters’ College WOOLWICH
IW Sec Trinity Catholic College AUBURN
SR Prim All Saints Catholic Primary School LIVERPOOL
SR Prim Holy Family Catholic Primary School MENAI
SR Prim Holy Spirit Catholic Primary School CARNES HILL
SR Prim John the Baptist Catholic Primary School BONNYRIGG
SR Prim Our Lady of Fatima Catholic Primary School CARINGBAH
SR Prim St Christopher’s Catholic Primary School PANANIA
SR Prim St John Bosco Catholic Primary School ENGADINE
SR Prim St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School COMO
SR Sec All Saints Catholic College LIVERPOOL
SR Sec Clancy Catholic College WEST HOXTON
SR Sec De La Salle Catholic College CARINGBAH
SR Sec De La Salle College REVESBY
SR Sec Good Samaritan Catholic College HINCHINBROOK
SR Sec Mary MacKillop College WAKELEY
SR Sec Our Lady of Mercy Catholic College BURRANEER
SR Sec St John Bosco Catholic College ENGADINE
SR Sec St Patrick’s College SUTHERLAND

ER = Eastern Region | IW = Inner Western Region | SR =  Southern Region

Prim = Primary | Sec =  Secondary